Facebook is adding a Snooze button to your timeline. This enables you to temporarily unfollow someone without having to unfriend them. And their updates will start appearing again automatically after 30 days. Which is perfect for those who have annoying Facebook friends.

Facebook is all about friends. Not your real friends, of course, but “friends” who you barely know. Maybe you met them at a party, or perhaps you work with them. Either way, you’re now Facebook friends. And if you can’t bring yourself to unfriend them, you can at least hit Snooze.

Unfriend, Unfollow, or Snooze… You Choose

Facebook’s new Snooze button is another option to manage your burgeoning list of Facebook friends. Unfriend is the nuclear option, Unfollow means you’ll stop seeing anything they post, and Snooze is a temporary respite from the inanity/madness/drama. Delete as appropriate.

Snooze will essentially unfollow that person for exactly 30 days. They won’t know you’ve Snozzed them, and you can change your mind at any time by just clicking the button again. But if you do stick it out you’ll be notified the period is coming to an end, and then follow them again.

There are tons of examples of when this could come in handy. Maybe you’ve gone through a breakup but want to stay friends. Maybe there’s an election coming up and you’re not interested. Maybe someone insists on posting photos of their baby every day. Snooze, Snooze, Snooze.

Snoozing a friend (or group or page) is as simple as clicking the three dots on one of their posts and selecting “Snooze for 30 days” option. You can then go about your business without having to deal with their nonsense, safe in the knowledge that they’ll appear again a month later.

How Do You Snooze the Whole of Facebook?

This is a really clever idea I can’t quite believe Facebook didn’t think of sooner. Giving people more control over their timeline and feed is absolutely crucial if Facebook wants to keep people around for decades to come. Having said that I sometimes want to Snooze Facebook indefinitely.

What do you think of Facebook’s new Snooze button? Under what circumstances can you see yourself using it? Have you already got someone in mind you’re going to Snooze for 30 days? If so, what have they done to deserve it? Please let us know in the comments below!

Image Credit: Mateus Lunardi Dutra via Flickr